When it was first established in 1978, this institution was a training institution which aimed to respond to the needs of the tourism industry which required implementing staff, especially in the hospitality sector, based on recommendations from UNDP and ILO studies in 1972. In this regard, on March 27 1978, a tourism education and training institution was opened. which is named the Bali Hospitality and Tourism Education Center which is abbreviated to P4B, located in the Nusa Dua Tourism Area.

This institution is one of the Technical Implementation Units of PT Bali Tourism Development or Bali Tourism Development Corporation (BTDC) which manages the Nusa Dua Tourism Area. The main priority given to take part in hospitality education and training, namely the Pre-vocational Training Program at P4B, are elementary school graduates or secondary school “drop out” students who come from communities from villages around the P4B campus. Admission of the first batch of Regular Program students began in the 1979/1980 academic year.

On 22 January 1982 the management of P4B was transferred from PT BTDC to the Education and Training Agency of the Ministry of Transportation in accordance with the Decree of the Minister of Transportation No: 303/DL.005/PHB-81 dated 18 December 1981 concerning the Establishment of the Bali Tourism Education and Training Center (BPLP) . Subsequently, this institution changed its name to the Bali Tourism Education and Training Center, which was shortened to BPLP Bali. In 1983, in accordance with the Decree of the Minister of Tourism, Post and Telecommunications (Menparpostel) No: Km.08/OT.083/PPT-83 concerning Organization and Deparpostel Work Procedures, the management of BPLP Bali was transferred from the Department of Transportation to the Department of Tourism, Post and Telecommunications. In this period the concentration of regular tourism education and training programs is at Diploma 1 to Diploma 3 levels.

The development of the tourism industry at that time was very rapid so that the demand for quality tourism human resources, especially at the leadership level, was very much needed. So, to anticipate the needs of the tourism industry, in accordance with Presidential Decree Number: 102 of 1993, BPLP Bali was upgraded to the Nusa Dua Bali Tourism College, abbreviated as STPNB, with a concentration of tourism education and training programs at Diploma 3 and 4 levels.

Starting from the 2008/2009 academic year, STPNB opened a Bachelor’s Program (Strata 1), in accordance with the Approval Letter of the Director General of Higher Education Number: 947/D/T/2008 dated 31 March 2008 concerning Recommendations for the Implementation of the Hospitality Business Study Program at STPNB and in 2019 STPNB will also founded the Master’s Program in Applied Tourism.

Based on letter Number B/872/M.KT.01/2019 dated 23 September 2019, the Nusa Dua Bali Tourism College has officially changed its status to the Bali Tourism Polytechnic and received approval from the Minister for Administrative Reform and Bureaucratic Reform. Bali Tourism Polytechnic, hereinafter referred to as Poltekpar Bali, is a tertiary institution that provides vocational education in the field of tourism within the Ministry of Tourism and on October 21 2019, the Handover of the Position of Chair of the Bali Tourism College was carried out to the Director of the Bali Tourism Polytechnic. Currently the Bali Tourism Polytechnic has 2 departments with 10 study programs and 1 postgraduate.

Since its inception on March 27 1978 until now this institution, its leadership has been entrusted to the following officials:

Drs. I Gede Ardika Periode

Periode 1978 - 1985

Drs. I Nyoman Bagiarta

Periode 1985 - 1992

I Gede Widjana

Periode 1992 - 1998

Dr. Dra. N. K. Mardani, MS

Periode 1998 - 2000

Drs Sumekto Djajanegara, MM

Periode 2000

I G.P. Laksaguna, SE., MM., M.Sc

Periode 2000 - 2002

I Made Sudjana, SE., MM., CHT

Periode 2002 - 2010

Dr. I Nyoman Madiun, M.Sc

Periode 2010 - 2013

Drs. Dewa Gede Ngurah Byomantara, M.Ed

Periode 2013 - 2019

Drs. Ida Bagus Putu Puja,M.Kes

Periode 2019 - sekarang